Hepatology Specialty membership


Clinical Lead

East Midlands

Andrew Austin


George Mells

Greater Manchester

Dr Shaun Greer

Kent, Surrey and Sussex

Dr Aftab Ala

Northern Ireland

Roger McCorry

North East and North Cumbria

Dr Stuart McPherson

North West Coast

Dr Paul Richardson

North West London

Dr Ashley Brown

North Thames

Prof William Rosenberg

North Thames

Dr Aileen Marshall


Ewan Forrest

South London

Dr Kosh Agarwal

South West Peninsula

Dr Matthew Cramp

Thames Valley and South Midlands

Dr Ellie Barnes


Dr Chinlye Ch’ng


Dr Richard Aspinall

West of England

Dr Peter Collins

West Midlands

Dr Gideon Hirschfield

West Midlands

Dr Esther Unitt

Yorkshire and Humber

Dr Mark Aldersley

Yorkshire and Humber

Dr Dermot Gleeson


The Clinical Research Network is made up of 15 localities. These are the current nominated local leads for Hepatology research. These clinicians lead research groups to promote and support Hepatology within the NHS Trusts in their area. At a national level the local leads come together to manage the national Hepatology research portfolio. This involves regularly reviewing the progress of studies, identifying barriers to recruitment, and coming up with solutions and strategies to help overcome those barriers.