Specialty leads


Clinical Lead


Dr Massimiliano Di Pietro

East Midlands

Dr John De Caestecker

Krish Ragunath

Greater Manchester

Prof John McLaughlin

Kent, Surrey and Sussex

Bijay Baburajan

Northern Ireland

Seamus Murphy

North East and North Cumbria

Dr Matt Rutter

North Thames

Qasim Aziz

North West Coast

Mr Sreedhar Subramanian

North West London

Dr Julian Teare

Ailsa Hart


Professor Jack Satsangi

South London

Mr Richard Pollok

South West Peninsula

Dr Tariq Ahmad

Thames Valley and South Midlands

Dr Simon Travis

Vipul Jairath




Dr Mike Stroud

West Midlands

Dr Matthew Brookes

West Midlands

Dr Tariq Iqbal

West of England

Prof Hugh Barr

Yorkshire and Humber

Dr Shaji Sebastian

Yorkshire and Humber

Prof Mark Hull (Chair)

Yorkshire and Humber (Administrator)

Ms Michelle Davies

Head of Research and Learning  Julie Solomon


The Clinical Research Network is made up of 15 localities. Each one has at least one nominated local lead for gastroenterology research. These clinicians lead research groups to promote and support gastroenterology research within the NHS Trusts in their area. At a national level the local leads come together to manage the national gastroenterology research portfolio overall. This involves regularly reviewing the progress of studies, identifying barriers to recruitment, and coming up with solutions and strategies to help overcome those barriers.